Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
GirlReadingBookC1302
Books a perfect gift for kids of any age

If you are still looking for a perfect gift for the child or teen in your life, look no further than your closest book store.

Babies (birth to age 2)

Barnyard Dance by Sandra Boynton

Barnyard Dance features lively rhyming text and a die-cut cover that reveals the wacky characters inside. Guaranteed to get kids and adults stomping their feet.

The Things I Love About Bedtime by Trace Moroney

From taking a bath to brushing teeth to putting on pajamas to reading books in bed, follow one happy little bunny through an adorably illustrated, classic bedtime routine that puts the “sweet” in “sweet dreams.”

That’s Not My Dragon by Fiona Watt

Along with charming illustrations and gentle humour, That’s Not My Dragon provides the opportunity to interact with a variety of textures. Kids will discover the different dragons , which are complete with fuzzy ears, scaly wings, sparkling horns and spotty skin.

Elmer’s Opposites by David McKee

Elmer is big. Bird is small. Tiger is fast. Tortoise is slow. Have fun looking at opposites from front to back in this delightful board book.

Kids (age 3 to 8)

Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Christmas: A Safety Guide for Scaredies by Melanie Watt

Scaredy Squirrel returns with a quirky safety guide filled with practical tips and nutty step-by-step instructions to help readers prepare for a perfect Christmas.

Pete the Cat Saves Christmas by Eric Litwin

In this rockin’ new spin on the traditional tale The Night Before Christmas, Pete the Cat proves that giving your all in the spirit of Christmas is the totally groovy thing to do.

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker

As the sun sets behind the big construction site, all the hard-working trucks get ready to say goodnight. One by one, crane truck, cement mixer, dump truck, bulldozer and excavator finish their work and lie down to rest – so they’ll be ready for another day of rough and tough construction play.

I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

The bear’s hat is gone and he wants it back. Patiently and politely, he asks the animals, one by one, whether they have seen it. Each animal says no, some more elaborately than others. Then a deer asks a simple question that sparks the bear’s memory and renews his search with a vengeance.

Tweens (age nine to 12)

Captain Underpants and the Return of Tippy Tinkletrousers by Dav Pilkey

In this ninth epic novel, Dav Pilkey takes readers back in time to the carefree days of kindergarten, when the worst thing George and Harold had to face was not evil mad scientists or alien cafeteria ladies but a sixth-grade bully named Kipper Krupp, the nephew of their clueless school principal.

And because George and Harold don’t actually invent Captain Underpants until fourth grade, the two clever kindergartners are on their own-using their brains to beat the bully.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel by Jeff Kinney

A Valentine’s Day dance at Greg’s middle school has turned his world upside down. As Greg scrambles to find a date, he’s worried he’ll be left out in the cold on the big night. His best friend, Rowley, doesn’t have any prospects either, but that’s a small consolation.
An unexpected twist gives Greg a partner for the dance and leaves Rowley the odd man out. But a lot can happen in one night and in the end, you never know who’s going to be lucky in love.

The Heroes of Olympus: The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

The third book in the Heroes of Olympus series will unite Neptune, Percy, Hazel, and Frank with Jason, Piper and Leo. But they number only six – who will complete the Prophecy of Seven?

The Greek and Roman demigods will have to cooperate in order to defeat the giants released by the Earth Mother, Gaea. Then they will have to sail together to the ancient land to find the Doors of Death. What exactly are the Doors of Death?

With old friends and new friends joining forces, a marvelous ship, fearsome foes and an exotic setting, The Mark of Athena promises to be another unforgettable adventure.

Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Smart Miss Know-It-All by Rachel Renee Russell

Nikki Maxwell authors an advice column for the school newspaper in this fifth book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series.

Mean girl Mackenzie starts a gossip column and there just might be some juicy info involving Nikki’s crush, Brandon, that Nikki doesn’t want Mackenzie reporting to the world. So Nikki joins the school newspaper staff-and ends up as an advice columnist. When Miss Know-It-All’s inbox is overflowing with pleas for guidance, Nikki feels in need of some help herself.

Teens (ages 13 to 19)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.
This is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives.

Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series-The Maze Runner is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade-a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days, a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up-the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

These selections were compiled by the Hamilton Public Library. If you can’t buy them all, all of these titles are available through the Hamilton Public Library.

Comments are closed.

HomeFinder.caWheels.caOurFaves.caLocalWork.caGottaRent.ca