Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Submitted photo

Submitted photo

Front row, from left, Alex Gazzola and Adam Edwards. Second row: Logan VandenHeuvel, Declan Forth, Kael Andrew, Megan Kosempel, Jason MacNeil, Kyle Wheaton, Matthew Taylor and Kai Sulentic. Third row: Jude Kierstead, Sean Tutt, Martin VandenHeuvel, Coy Gordon, Zachary Klapman, Christopher Cheeseman, Owen Cox and Ben Rego.Back row: coaching staff Brett Andrew, Marty VandenHeuvel, Jamie Kosempel and Dave Cheeseman.

Tyke Blues keep near capacity crowd on the edge of its seats

The Dundas Nine-O Tyke Blues Tri-County championship run came to an end in Game 4 on Wednesday night before a nearly sold out crowd at J.L. Grightmire Arena.

The Hespeler Shamrocks stormed out in the first period, scoring two goals in the first two minutes. After that, the Blues found their stride, with Kael Andrew scoring in the final minute.  The Shamrocks went on to score two more times in the second, while Blues sniper Martin VandenHeuvel fired one past the Shamrock netminder to make it 4-2.

The Shamrocks extended their lead in the third to 5-2, but the Blues would not go quietly.  With five minutes left to play, VandenHeuvel fired another shot past the Hespeler goalie, then in the final nine seconds, the Blues took advantage of an extra man attack, which resulted in Andrew bringing the game to within a goal. The crowd was on the edge of its seats in the final seconds when the Blues made a final push to make it to overtime. Unfortunately, the Shamrock goaltender stopped the offensive rush.

Assists for the Blues went to Kai Sulentic, Logan VandenHeuvel and Andrew, with a strong defensive effort from Matthew Taylor and Zachary Klapman.

Comments are closed.