Basketball and badminton stars named Mohawk’s top...
Bookmark and Share
Apr 11, 2014  |  Vote 0    0

Basketball and badminton stars named Mohawk’s top athletes

Hamilton Mountain News

Fennll, Hall and Lim get top honours

All Canadian guard Matt Fennell has captured the Wes Hicks Outstanding Male Athlete Award at Mohawk College for 2013-2014.

The honour was announced at the 47th annual athletics awards banquet at the college last Saturday.

 Fennell was part of the Mohawk team which went to the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association championship, losing in the semi-final to the eventual gold medal winner. 

The Mountaineers were the West Division champs and Fennell was the OCAA West Division scoring champion and an OCAA West first team all-star.

He averaged 25.4 points per game and scored 20 points or more in 13 of 18 league games, with a game high of 44 in the first semester against Sheridan College.

 OCAA women’s doubles badminton champions Victoria Hall and Kimloung Lim were co-winners of the Outstanding Female Athlete award.

Hall and Lim, both Ontario all-stars, followed up their OCAA gold medal with silver at the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) championships.

 Men’s volleyball star Eric Danecke won the Dr. Sam Mitminger Award, which goes to an athlete, in his or her graduating year, who achieved consistent academic and athletic excellence. Danecke was a key player as the Mountaineers finished fourth in the West Division with a 12-6 record, but went on to win the OCAA gold medal and reached the semi-finals at the nationals.

 Other Mohawk award winners

 Female Freshman Athlete: Stef Hrymak, an OCAA basketball West Division all-rookie team member and West second team league all-star.

 Male Freshman Athlete: Bryce Marcussen, an OCAA West and overall OCAA volleyball rookie of the year as well as an OCAA all-rookie team member and West first team league all-star

 All Round Female Athlete: Anna Boric, soccer and basketball

 Dr. Keith McIntyre Athletic Leadership Award: Jacob Piett.

 Barb Moore Spirit of Athletics Award: Kyle Claxton.

 Department of Athletics and Recreation Award: Danielle Watson.

Bookmark and Share

(0) Comment

Join The Conversation Sign Up Login


In Your Neighbourhood Today