Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Photo by Debra Downey

Photo by Debra Downey

Reid Perusini, right, and Riley Bennett turned their experience with mild concussions into an award-winning science fair project. The Grade 8 Sir William Osler Elementary School students won a silver medal and a $500 scholarship to Mohawk Collage, as well as the ArcelorMittal Dofasco Engineering and Maintenance Technology Award at the 2014 Bay Area Science and Engineering Fair. Their project tested the hypothesis — Do more expensive hockey helmets provide greater protection than less expensive hockey helmets? Both boys are Rep hockey players and have suffered mild concussions while playing hockey. They built a testing structure where they could drop 1.5, five and 10-pound weights onto various hockey helmets at different price points. Their finding was that a more expensive hockey helmet that is properly fitted, provides greater protection.

Students wow the judges

Catharine Bowman from St. Mary Secondary School was the big winner at the 54th Bay Area Science and Engineering Fair.

Catharine picked up the ArcelorMittal Dofasco Pinnacle Best-in-Fair Award for her project.

Her project focused on discovering a natural treatment for the lymphedema — an incurable condition characterized by a buildup of protein-rich fluids that can result after lymph nodes have been removed from cancer surgery.

Burlington student Calvin Rieder claimed second place, while third prize went to Arjuna Maharaj from Ancaster High.

Bowman, Rieder and Maharaj have qualified to travel to Los Angeles, Calif., in May to compete at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

Sixteen students with top projects will also advance to the Canada Wide Science Fair  in May in Windsor. These include local students Jessica Bohm, Claire Hunter, Patrick Lutz and Isabella O’Brien  of St. Augustine,  and Federico Cao and Adree Khondker from Westdale.

Ancaster-based students who earned the judges’ attention and awards were  Eunice Chan, Lily Wu and Akash Thapar.

As well, awards were handed out to Dundas students Riley Bennett, Ross Colborne, Benjamin  Denomey, Emily Egan, Eryn Johnston,Noah Michelsen, Parsa Norouzian, Radha Patel, Kaitlyn Pathak, Dylan Patrick, Reid Perusini, Paul Robson, Naomi Terhljan, William Tsounis, Sam Wilson, Adam Della Ventura, Rachel Opsteen, Avery Schmalz and Seth Stefanchuk.

Complete winner information is available on the BASEF website at

Comments are closed.